Our schools operate on 9-week grading and reporting cycles, using the state's approved 10-point grading scale.

Student grading guidelines

Grading scale
A: 90-100
B: 80-89
C: 70-79
D: 60-69
F: 59 and below

Minimum grading requirements

State curriculum

The North Carolina Standard Course of Study (NCSCOS) defines the appropriate content standards for each grade and each high school course to provide a uniform set of learning standards for every public school in North Carolina. These standards from the NC Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) define what students are expected to know and be able to do by the end of each school year or course.

The North Carolina English Language Development Standards outlines student expectations related to key language uses, language expectations, and Proficiency Level Descriptors (PLD) for the following grade clusters:

  • Kindergarten

  • Grade 1

  • Grades 2-3

  • Grades 4-5

  • Grades 6-8

  • Grades 9-12